The Michael Marks Awards for Poetry Pamphlets 2012

The Wordsworth Trust has taken over the administration of The Michael Marks Awards for Poetry Pamphlets, and will present the 2012 Awards in association with the British Library and the TLS.

“We are delighted to be involved”, says Wordsworth Trust Director Michael McGregor.

“This is a new departure for the Trust but one which signifies our growing significance as a centre for contemporary poetry and our ongoing commitment to it. As publishers of poetry pamphlets ourselves we recognise their significance. We look forward to a long relationship with the Awards.”

The Awards are designed to raise the profile of poetry pamphlets, recognising the enormous contribution that they make to the world of poetry. They have rapidly established themselves among the most significant awards in contemporary poetry.

There are two awards, one for a poet and one for a publisher. The Poetry Award recognises an outstanding work of poetry published in pamphlet form in the UK during 2011 (self-published work is welcome) and the winning poet will receive a cheque for £5,000.

The poet of the winning pamphlet will also become Harvard University’s Michael Marks Poet in Residence at its summer school in Greece. This year’s residency will take place in July 2012.

The judges are: poet and Deputy Editor/Poetry Editor of the TLS Alan Jenkins (chair); Poet-in-Residence at the Wordsworth Trust Carola Luther; and Tanya Kirk, Lead Curator of Printed Literary Sources at the British Library.

Past winners of the Poetry Award have included Elizabeth Burns, Selima Hill and James McGonigal. Winners of the Publishers Award have included The Crater Press, Oystercatcher Press and Happenstance Press.

For full details of eligibility and how to enter, please click here.
Entry forms for the Poetry Award are available here, and for the Publishers Award here.

The Awards are open for submissions from 17 February, closing at 4.00pm on 21 March.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony at the British Library on the evening of Friday 22 June 2012. Tickets will be available from the British Library from early May 2012.