Anne Pierson Award for Young Writers is open for entries

Anne Pierson - the Brewery's Director for 25 years

Established in 2004 by the former Director of the Brewery Arts Centre, The Anne Pierson Award for Young Writers in Cumbria is dedicated to encouraging and progressing young people’s interest and abilities in creative writing and to celebrating their achievements.

Up to fifteen entries will be shortlisted for the grand prize of £400 and two runners up prizes of £200 each. All those who are shortlisted will receive a £20 book token and publication in the Award anthology.

The shortlist will be announced around the middle of March, and shortlisted entries will be read by professional actors at an Award Ceremony at the Brewery Arts Centre on Wednesday 6 April 2011, when the winner and runners-up will be announced.

The judges are Kevin Dyer, Associate Writer at Action Transport Theatre, thriller writer Zoe Sharp, and poet and novelist Jacob Polley. Prizes will be presented by special guest Helen Mort, Poet-in-Residence at the Wordsworth Trust.

Click here for an entry form.
Click here for conditions of entry.

The Anne Pierson Award for Young Writers in Cumbria is supported by the Wordsworth Trust, the Hadfield Trust, the Frieda Scott Trust, the Francis Scott Trust, the Friends of the Brewery, and individual donations.